Introduction

Hi friends! My name is Irena and I’m a junior studying 21E (CMS + EECS). I grew up in good ol’ Austin, Texas. In my spare time, I enjoy photography, musical theater, dance, movie-watching, and spending time with my friends. I’m taking this class mostly out of curiosity on how different social movements are formed, how they develop and change over time, and what their eventual impact is on society. I am particularly interested in the Multiracial Identity Movement. Mixed-race people have been a part of our country from the start, but weren’t counted in the US Census until the year 2000. I would like to take a look at the work done by the Association of MuliEthnic Americans, to understand the types and effects of racism towards multiethnic people, and to observe the representation of mixed-race individuals in film/tv and the resulting effects of said representation.

 

Leave a Reply

