Introduction

Hi! My name is Priyanka. I am a Research Fellow at the Senseable City Lab at MIT. I started off studying engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay. However, I felt that I needed to better understand the context in which the technologies I was working with would be deployed, and thus moved to the University of Oxford to study environmental policy and business. I then moved to Nairobi to work for a year at the United Nations Environment Program before coming to  MIT.

While I was at Oxford I witnessed the rise of the Rhodes Must Fall protests. When I was in Nairobi I participated in several demonstrations against the government to protest against extrajudicial killings. I am taking this class because I believe that now, more than ever, we will have to organize ourselves to fight against the onslaught of fascism in the world. I want to understand how this organizing is best done. I also want to learn about other movements that intersect with the causes I care about.

Leave a Reply

