Introduction: Yazmin

Hi! My name is Yazmin. I am a Junior studying Urban Studies and Planning. I’m originally from Wichita, the biggest city in Kansas. I decided to take Networked Social Movements, first because I got an email from Sasha, but also because I am really interested in activism and how it is affected by the technology we have today. I am really excited to get to study the outcomes and strategies of different movements. As technology and social media become a larger part of our lives, it is important that we as activists are able to use the power effectively. I hope to learn more about the Chicano movement in the United States. My parents are originally from Mexico, and I think it would be really exciting to learn more about a movement that was founded and sustained by people from a similar background as me.

Leave a Reply

